Samuel & Alice Beaubien

Along time ago I found a stack of old photos in my Grandmother’s chest and she told me with great memory of who almost every person in the pictures were (mind you she was 90 at the time). Unfortunately at the time I didn’t think to write down the people in the pictures, so I have stack of pictures and have very little idea who they are. There are a few that I remember who they are (well not names) like the pictures below. These are my Grandfather’s Grandparents, Samuel and Alice Beaubien. I assume that these pictures were taking on their wedding day.

photo (1)

Samuel & Alice (Schock) Beaubien Circa 1880

photo

Samuel & Alice (Schock) Beaubien Circa 1880

I actually had to use Ancestry to find out their names…I was literally armed with knowing that my Grandfather’s Father’s Name was James and that his mother’s name was Della. I’d have to say it’s pretty to now know a few things about a family I ever knew. My Grandfather Beaubien passed away before both my brother and I were born, his father passed away before my father was born…so lets just hope that my father stays around to see his grandchildren.

Anyways back to Samuel and Alice.

Samuel Beaubien was born in October 1851. Alice Schock was born in February 1863. They married in 1880 and had a total of twelve children (I’ll talk about them a little later). It looks like they were farmers in Frenchtown, Monroe, Michigan; also from this 1900 Census it shows nine of the twelve children (the last three had not been born yet).

1900 census

Samuel passed away on June 16, 1923 and Alice passed away Christmas Day (December 25) 1935.

They had twelve children…

The oldest James Beaubien (my father’s grandfather) born April 9, 1881.
Rosa Beaubien was born October 6, 1882.
Henry Beaubien was born March 28, 1884.
Susan Beaubien was born November 1886.
Adaline Beaubien was born March 7, 1888.
Frank Beaubien was born February 2, 1891.
Mary Beaubien was born April 16, 1893.
George Beaubien was born February 21, 1895.
Alfred Beaubien was born March 2, 1898.
Mabel Beaubien was born August 27, 1901.
Richard Beaubien was born March 28, 1902.
The youngest Robert Beaubien was born December 19, 1907.

I have many more pictures and people that I want to share but also have a lot of research that I still need to do.

Over and out,
Lyndsey

2 thoughts on “Samuel & Alice Beaubien

  1. Pingback: The Engineer & The GSP | James & Delia Beaubien

  2. Pingback: The Engineer & The GSP | Howard & Kate Beaubien

Leave a Reply

